Audit Log

The Audit Log is a chronological list of all additions, changes and deletions in eHour. Tracked time, changed project budgets, rejected timesheets, new expense receipts - all these events are recorded and combined in the Audit Log, creating a sequential record of all the activity in eHour.

The Audit Log is available for users with the Manager or Admin role and can be found behind the gear icon in the top right.

What data is captured?

Have a look at this audit log entry:

Each event has five elements of data:

  1. The timestamp when the event occurred.
  2. The event or command; Entity: Edited in this example
  3. A short description of the event
  4. All the fields that this event changed, including the old and new values for each field
  5. Users, clients, projects, etc. related to this event.

Entries that are logged cannot be changed, the audit log is immutable.

Which events/commands are captured?

Event / Command Description
Approval: Approved The timesheet is approved by a reviewer.
Approval: Request Cancelled The requester cancelled the request for approving their timesheet.
Approval: Rejected The timesheet is rejected by a reviewer.
Approval: Requested Timesheet approval is requested.
Approval: Resubmitted The timesheet that was rejected is resubmitted for approval by the requester.
Entity: Created A new Client, Project, Task, User or Entity is created.
Entity: Archived A Client, Project, Task, User or Entity is archived.
Entity: Deleted A Client, Project, Task, User or Entity is deleted.
Entity: Edited An existing Client, Project, Task, User or Entity is edited.
Entity: Restored An archived Client, Project, Task, User or Entity is restored and is active again.
Expense: Created A new expense is created. Take note, that expense receipts are logged separately.
Expense: Deleted An expense is deleted.
Expense Receipt: Added An expense receipt is uploaded and added to an expense.
Expense Receipt: Deleted An expense receipt is deleted and removed from the expense.
Logged in The user logged in.
Logged in as User A Manager or Admin logged in as a User.
Team Assigned to Project The team is assigned to a project or task.
Team Assignment: Archived The team is no longer assigned to a project or task. Any tracked time is still available in the reports.
Team Assignment: Deleted The team is no longer assigned to a project or task. This team tracked no time on the project or task.
Team Assignment: Edited The team assignment on the project or task is edited. For example, the budget or end date.
Team Assignment: Restored An archived team assignment is active again.
User Added to Team The user is added to the team and automatically assigned to all the teams' projects. Each user assignment is logged separately.
User Removed from Team The user is removed from the team. Any relevant project assignments are removed and logged separately.
Timesheet: Time Added Time is tracked on a project or task either entered manually or clocked with the timer.
Timesheet: Time Appended Time is clocked with the timer and appended to an already existing time entry for that project.
Timesheet: Time Deleted Time is deleted from the timesheet.
Timesheet: Time Edited An existing time entry on the timesheet is changed.
User Assigned to Project The user is assigned to a project or task.
User Assignment: Archived The user is no longer assigned to a project or task. Any tracked time is still available in the reports.
user Assignment: Deleted The user is no longer assigned to a project or task. There was no time tracked by this user on the project or task.
User Assignment: Edited The user assignment on the project or task is edited. For example, the budget or end date.
User Assignment: Restored An archived user assignment is active again.
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us