Managing Users

As an Admin or Manager, you can add new Users to your eHour account, edit an existing or remove them altogether.

Users that are active add up to your subscription fee. Archived Users are free of charge.

In this article


Add a new User

Click on Manage tab and then and click Users. To add a user, use the 'Add user' button or the plus sign in the lower left of the page.

The required information
  1. In the New user popup, enter the first and last name and email. Users log in with their email address, and the email address must be unique.
  2. Set at least one team this user is part of. You can select multiple teams when needed.
  3. Select the role or roles this user has. Read more about what each role can do in this article.
  4. Select a line manager (or no manager). Line Managers can run reports on the hours tracked by the people they manage and when configured, can approve timesheets.
Time Tracking settings
  1. Set an hourly rate for the user. This hourly rate is used for calculating turnover for billable projects. The hourly rate can be overridden when assigning a user to a project.
  2. You can enter the contract hours or the number of hours this person works per week. Contract hours are used for determining when automatic an automatic reminder is sent.
  3. You can elect to send the user a reminder mail for missing hours by clicking on the box next to Send reminder mail.
  4. Any custom fields when you defined them

After saving the data an invitation mail is sent to the user which includes a link to set their password. You, as an admin, can also set the password when creating the user, by using the "Click here to set the password now" link. 

Click Save user to set everything in action!


Edit an existing User

Admins or Manager can edit existing Users.

  1. Click on Manage and click Users.
  2. Look up the User you want to edit in the list of active users or search using the search box.
  3. Click on Settings to edit the settings of the User.
  4. Change the settings you would like to change and click Save to save any changes.

Delete or Archive a User

An Admin or Manager can delete users that have not tracked any hours or filed any expenses. For historical reports, you can only archive users that did track hours or added expenses.

Archived users can no longer login however already tracked hours of archived users are still available in the reports. You can always restore an archived user and make it active again.
Deleted users cannot be restored, they are gone forever.

Archived users are free of charge, they don't add to your subscription fee. When you archive a user your subscription fee will automatically adjust, any prorated charges will be compensated in your next invoice.

To delete or archive a User
  1. Click on Manage tab and then click Users.
  2. Look up the User you want to remove in the list of active users or search using the search box.
  3. Click on Settings.
  4. In the popup, scroll all the way down.
  5. Use either the Delete button or Archive button. When the User already tracked hours the Delete button is not shown.

Restore an Archived User

An Admin or Manager can restore archived Users. Restoring an archived User allows the User to log in again and continue with tracking time.

To restore a User
  1. Click on Manage tab and then click Users.
  2. Click on the gear icon next to the search and untick "Hide archived users"
  3. Look up the user you want to restore
  4. Click on Restore
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us